The whole world is talking about digitalisation

Almost every business article written mentions an element of digitalisation. From smart toasters to robots with artificial intelligence - it feels like digitalisation is the word that interconnects everything. Is that really what it means to be digital, when in the morning the alarm clock reads out the newspaper and on the way to the kitchen the in-house kitchen robot perfectly the sliced bread to the desired toasted degree, while at the same time the car seat is already preheated to the convenient temperature?

So what is digitalisation?

Simply put, digitalisation means nothing more than converting analogue values into digital form. For example, patient records in hospitals are no longer kept in paper form, instead they are stored in a computer. Saves a lot of paper and data can be found much faster when needed.
In the meantime, plenty of terminology have become established around digitalisation, of which we have summarised the most important ones.

Terminology around digitalisation and their meaning:

Digital transformation
The continuous development of digital processes that have a lasting impact on our economy and society.
Digital change
Integration of digital technology by companies into their work processes and the impact of digital technology on society.
Digital disruption
Developments that replace or displace existing services, products or business models in certain markets through a digital innovation.
5G
5th generation of mobile communications. Further development of the 4g standard (LTE = Long Term Evolution). Is much more powerful. User data rates of 1 - 10 GBit/s can be achieved, in later expansion stages up to 100 GBit/s. Offers enormous economic benefits through things like smart cities, e-government, connected driving and much more.
Big Data
Huge amounts of data characterised by size, complexity, fast-moving nature and poor structuring. Also called mass data.
Cloud Computing
Cloud computing is the provision of computing resources via the internet, such as servers.
Social Media
Websites or apps through which users can create, share and network content.

How digital is Germany?

Digitalisation has long been a hot topic, especially in politics. In 2020, Germany only finds itself in 12th place in the DESI. DESI is the „Digital Economy and Society Index", which has been published annually by the EU Commission for Europe since 2014. The index is composed of 5 main factors, which comprise a total of 37 indicators and are weighted accordingly:

  1. Connectivity - fixed broadband usage and coverage, mobile broadband connectivity and prices.
  2. Human capital - internet users' competencies and advanced skills
  3. Internet usage - citizens' use of internet services and online transactions
  4. Digital inclusion - digitalisation of enterprises and e-commerce
  5. Digital public services - electronic government services ("e-government")
//ms-pos.net/wp-content/uploads/2021/10/DESI2020.jpg

Unfortunately, Germany's 12th place is only very slightly above the average in Europe, and we do even worse in a global comparison. Places 1 to 4 in Europe are occupied by Finland, Sweden, Denmark and the Netherlands, but there is still a lot of room for improvement for Europe as a whole.

//ms-pos.net/wp-content/uploads/2021/10/IDESI2020.jpg
What strategy is Germany pursuing?

What was still uncharted territory in 2013, according to Angela Merkel, is already supposed to advance our everyday lives today. Germany sees the digital transformation as a great opportunity to create more prosperity and a better quality of life for its citizens, while at the same time shaping it in a socially acceptable way and in harmony with its fundamental values. The Federal Government's digital strategy is divided into 5 fields of action:

  • Digital competence - Investing in people's knowledge, from children in kindergarten to senior citizens.
  • Infrastructure and equipment - gigabit-capable networks for cities and rural areas by the end of 2025
  • Innovation and digital transformation - broad and cross-sectoral promotion of Industry 4.0
  • Society in digital transformation - higher quality of life, with advanced security.
  • Modern state - all administrative services turning digital

Since many empty promises have been made in the past (see broadband expansion), this strategy and the associated goals should be viewed with caution.

What does digitalisation look like in a variety of companies?

Every process in a company can be divided into 4 levels:

  • Completely manual
  • Use of software, but with manual processes
  • Processes supported by software, with some manual activities
  • Completely based on software

In principle, the degree of digitalisation can be determined by the number of digitalised processes in the company. The degree of digitalisation is a multi-level system , from entirely analogue to fully digital. Here are the stages in "fast forward":

Level 0
Manual processes, without the support of IT. A company at level 0 does not need IT.

Level 1
Computer-supported work, for example accounting departments. Electronic data processing offers great advantages here, the software is usually simple in design.

Level 2
Information systems to analyse data. Data processing becomes more complex and more logic is built into the software, such as management information systems, which are used to condense and evaluate business data.

Level 3
Internet technology. All employees have access to a digital terminal (PC, laptop, etc.). Communication is digital, using appropriate software.

Level 4
Automation steps in individual departments. Starting from departmental processes that are completely controlled by software, e.g. a ticket system. "Information islands" are abolished, systems are internally networked and data is exchanged automatically.

Level 5
The digital enterprise. All processes are completely data-driven. Targets can be set, and with the help of the digital infrastructure, planning is "calculated". Software uses learned patterns. Production is completely automated; if necessary, communication with customers is handled via "chatbots". Procurement is fully automated, software processes and machines are automatically monitored. Efficiency and productivity are determined almost exclusively by optimising the software.

AI - Artificial Intelligence

Last but not least, aspect that is often associated with the topic of digitalisation. AI - artificial intelligence. There is no such thing as artificial intelligence. AI is just a buzzword. Because no matter how "intelligent" a machine seems, at the end of the day it is "only" a finely tuned algorithm behind it. A machine does not think, it follows predefined instructions. And it does so with unimaginably high speed and absolute precision - but not with its own ability to think. Does this mean that there will never be such a thing as artificial intelligence? We don't know that yet. With ever-increasing computing power, our possibilities are also becoming greater and greater. A very good example is the "JUQUEEN" supercomputer at the Supercomputing Centre Jülich (JSC). With the help of the supercomputer, an attempt is being made to simulate a human brain. This requires an unimaginable amount of computing power and storage space. Scientists can thus explore the human brain from a completely new perspective.

What if one day we could entirely simulate a brain functioning? At what point do circuits and working memory become intelligence? Exciting questions - and perhaps we will get more definitive answers in the near future.

For more information on the topic of digitization, we also recommend these links
https://www.bmwi.de/Redaktion/DE/Dossier/digitalisierung.html
https://www.teamnext.de/academy/artikel/das-digitale-zeitalter/
https://www.bigdata-insider.de/was-ist-digitalisierung-a-626489/

//neu.ms-pos.net/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/MS-POS-Logo-weiß-transparent-1.png
en_GBEN

Alle Welt spricht von Digitalisierung

Es gibt kaum einen Artikel in der Fachwelt, der aktuell nicht über Digitalisierung berichtet. Vom smarten Toaster bis zum Roboter mit künstlicher Intelligenz – gefühlt muss heute irgendwie alles vernetzt sein. Ist das wirklich die Bedeutung von „digital sein“, wenn morgens der Wecker nach Alarm die Zeitung vorliest und auf dem Weg zur Küche der hauseigene Küchenroboter die Scheibe Brot perfekt auf den gewünschten Bräunungsgrad zubereitet, während simultan der Autositz abhängig vom Wetter bereits vorgeheizt wird?

Also, was ist Digitalisierung?

Digitalisierung bedeutet, ganz einfach ausgedrückt, nichts weiter als analoge Werte in digitale Form umzuwandeln. Zum Beispiel, dass Patientenakten im Krankenhaus nicht mehr in Papierform geführt werden, sondern an einem Computer. Spart eine Menge Papier und Daten können bei Bedarf wesentlich schneller gefunden werden.
Inzwischen haben sich rund um Digitalisierung viele weitere Begriffe etabliert, von denen wir die wichtigsten übersichtlich zusammengefasst haben.

Begriffe rund um Digitalisierung und ihre Bedeutung:

Digitale Transformation
Die stetige Weiterentwicklung digitaler Prozesse, die unsere Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft nachhaltig prägen.
Digitaler Wandel
Integration Digitaler Technologien von Unternehmen in ihre Arbeitsabläufe und die Auswirkungen digitaler Technologien auf die Gesellschaft.
Digitale Disruption
Entwicklungen, die bei bestehenden Dienstleistungen, Produkten oder Geschäftsmodellen in bestimmten Märkten durch eine digitale Innovation abgelöst oder verdrängt werden.
5G
5. Generation des Mobilfunks. Weiterentwicklung des 4g-Standards (LTE = Long Term Evolution). Ist sehr viel leistungsfähiger. Nutzerdatenraten von 1 – 10 GBit/s können erreicht werden, in späteren Ausbaustufen bis zu 100 GBit/s. Bietet enormen volkswirtschaftlichen Nutzen durch Dinge wie Smart Cities, e-Government, vernetztes Fahren uvm.
Big Data
Riesige Datenmengen, die durch Größe, Komplexität, Schnelllebigkeit und schlechte Strukturierung gekennzeichnet sind. Wird auch Massendaten genannt.
Cloud Computing
Cloud Computing ist die Bereitstellung von Computingressourcen über das Internet, wie z.B. Server.
Social Media
Webseiten oder Apps, über die Nutzer Inhalte kreieren, teilen und sich vernetzen können.

Wie digital ist Deutschland?

Digitalisierung ist schon lange ein heißes Thema, besonders in der Politik. Im Jahr 2020 findet sich Deutschland nur auf Platz 12 der DESI wieder. DESI ist der „Index für die digitale Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft“, der seit 2014 jährlich von der EU-Kommission für Europa veröffentlicht wird. Der Index setzt sich aus 5 Hauptfaktoren zusammen, welche insgesamt 37 Indikatoren umfassen und entsprechend gewichtet werden:

  1. Konnektivität – Nutzung von und Versorgung mit Festnetz-Breitbandanschlüssen, Mobilfunk-Breitbandanbindung und Preise
  2. Humankapital – Kompetenzen der Internetnutzer und fortgeschrittene Fertigkeiten
  3. Internetnutzung – Nutzung von Internet-Diensten und Online-Transaktionen durch die Bürger
  4. Integration der Digitaltechnik – Digitalisierung von Unternehmen und elektronischer Handel
  5. Digitale öffentliche Dienste – Elektronische Behördendienste („e-Government“)
//ms-pos.net/wp-content/uploads/2021/10/DESI2020.jpg

Deutschland liegt mit Platz 12 leider nur sehr knapp über dem Durchschnitt in Europa, noch schlechter schneiden wir im weltweiten Vergleich ab. Die Plätze 1 bis 4 in Europa belegen Finnland, Schweden, Dänemark und die Niederlande, für Europa im Durchschnitt ist allerdings noch viel Luft nach oben.

//ms-pos.net/wp-content/uploads/2021/10/IDESI2020.jpg
Welche Strategie verfolgt Deutschland?

Was 2013 laut Angela Merkel noch Neuland war, soll heute schon unseren Alltag voranbringen. Deutschland stuft den digitalen Wandel als große Chance ein, mehr Wohlstand und bessere Lebensqualität für die Bürgerinnen und Bürger zu schaffen und ihn gleichzeitig sozialverträglich und im Einklang mit den Grundwerten zu gestalten. Die Digitalstrategie der Bundesregierung unterteilt sich in 5 Handlungsfelder:

  • Digitale Kompetenz – Investieren in das Wissen der Menschen, vom Kindergarten bis zum Seniorenalter
  • Infrastruktur und Ausstattung – Gigabitfähige Netze für Stadt und Land bis Ende 2025
  • Innovation und digitale Transformation – Breite und branchenübergreifende Förderung der Industrie 4.0
  • Gesellschaft im digitalen Wandel – Höhere Lebensqualität, mit Sicherheit.
  • Moderner Staat – Alle Verwaltungsleistungen werden digital

Da in der Vergangenheit bereits viele, am Ende leere Versprechungen gemacht wurden (siehe Breitbandausbau) sind diese Strategie und die damit einhergehenden Ziele mit Vorsicht zu betrachten.

Wie sieht Digitalisierung konkret in Unternehmen aus?

Jeder Prozess im Unternehmen kann in eine von 4 Stufen eingeteilt werden:

  • Vollständig manuell
  • Einsatz von Software, Ablauf aber manuell
  • Abläufe Software gestützt, dennoch manuelle Tätigkeiten
  • Vollständig Software

Grundsätzliche kann man an der Anzahl der digitalisierten Prozesse im Unternehmen auch den Digitalisierungsgrad bestimmen. Der Digitalisierungsgrad ist ein mehrstufiges System , von komplett analog bis hin zu komplett digital. Hier die Stufen im „Schnelldurchlauf“:

Stufe 0
Manuelle Prozesse, ohne IT. Ein Unternehmen auf Stufe 0 braucht keine IT.

Stufe 1
Computergestütztes Arbeiten wie z.B. in Buchhaltungsabteilungen. Die elektronische Datenverarbeitung bietet hier große Vorteile, die Software ist in der Regel einfach aufgebaut.

Stufe 2
Informationssysteme, um Daten auszuwerten. Die Datenverarbeitung wird komplexer und in die Software wird mehr Logik eingebaut. Wie z.B. Management Informationssysteme, mit denen betriebswirtschaftliche Daten verdichtet und ausgewertet werden.

Stufe 3
Die Internet-Technologie. Alle Mitarbeiter haben Zugang zu einem digitalen Endgerät (PC, Laptop etc.). Kommunikation erfolgt digital, unter der Verwendung entsprechender Software.

Stufe 4
Automatisierungsschritte in einzelnen Abteilungen. Erste abteilungsinterne Abläufe werden vollständig per Software gesteuert z.B. ein Ticketsystem. „Informationsinseln“ werden abgeschafft, Systeme intern miteinander vernetzt sind und Daten automatisch ausgetauscht.

Stufe 5
Das digitale Unternehmen. Alle Prozesse laufen komplett datengetrieben. Zielvorgaben können gesetzt werden, mithilfe der digitalen Infrastruktur wird darauf eine Planung „errechnet“. Software greift auf gelernte Muster zurück. Die Produktion ist komplett automatisiert, ggf. wird die Kommunikation zum Kunden über „Chatbots“ abgewickelt. Die Beschaffung erfolgt voll automatisiert, Softwareprozesse und Maschinen werden automatisch überwacht. Effizienz und Produktivität werden fast ausschließlich durch Optimierung der Software bestimmt.

KI – Künstliche Intelligenz

Zum Abschluss noch ein Punkt, der häufig mit dem Thema Digitalisierung in Verbindung gebracht wird. KI – Künstliche Intelligenz oder zu Englisch AI - Artificial Intelligence. So etwas wie künstliche Intelligenz gibt es nicht. Bei KI handelt es sich nur um ein „Buzzword“. Denn egal wie „intelligent“ eine Maschine wirkt, am Ende des Tages steckt „nur“ ein fein ausgeklügelter Algorithmus dahinter. Eine Maschine denkt nicht, sie befolgt vorher definierte Anweisungen. Diese zwar mit unvorstellbar hoher Geschwindigkeit und absoluter Genauigkeit – aber nicht mit eigenem Denkvermögen. Heißt das, dass es niemals so etwas wie künstliche Intelligenz geben wird? Man weiß es nicht. Durch immer höhere Rechenleistungen werden unsere Möglichkeiten auch immer größer. Ein sehr gutes Beispiel hierfür ist der Supercomputer „JUQUEEN“ im Supercomputing Centre Jülich (JSC). Mithilfe des Supercomputers wird versucht, ein menschliches Gehirn zu simulieren. Dafür ist unvorstellbar viel Rechenleistung und Speicherplatz notwendig. Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler können so das menschliche Gehirn auf ganz neue Weise erforschen.

Was wäre, wenn wir eines Tages ein komplettes Gehirn vollkommen simulieren können? Ab wann wird aus Schaltkreisen und Arbeitsspeicher Intelligenz? Spannende Fragen – und vielleicht bekommen wir in naher Zukunft schon konkretere Antworten.

Für weitere Informationen zum Thema Digitalisierung empfehlen wir auch diese Links
https://www.bmwi.de/Redaktion/DE/Dossier/digitalisierung.html
https://www.teamnext.de/academy/artikel/das-digitale-zeitalter/
https://www.bigdata-insider.de/was-ist-digitalisierung-a-626489/

//neu.ms-pos.net/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/MS-POS-Logo-weiß-transparent-1.png
de_DEDE